Request for Help Falls (Mostly) on Deaf Ears

Earlier this week I posted a message on a couple of my LinkedIn discussion groups, asking for people’s advice on how to write an RFP. The question itself was fairly simple – I was asking if there is a good way to write an RFP without divulging the full set of requirements. I believe I have good reason for wanting to keep these details private at this early stage of the project.

Here is the measly set of responses I got:
1 – the person responded on topic, but did not address my question
2 – the person asked to be on the list of companies to bid on the RFP
3 – the person said it is not possible to bid on an RFP without the full set of requirements.

Hm.

Granted, I did get an acceptable answer from person #1 after I responded back saying thank you for your advice, but what about my question.

So here’s this supposedly great resource that LinkedIn offers in the way of support for people helping people, and out of maybe a couple thousand members in the groups I posted this to, I get three responses, none of which are helpful. So I feel like standing up and saying, HEY! where is everybody??? Is everyone just so absorbed by their own problems that they can’t spend a minute to reach out to help someone in need?

So anyway… the answer I gleaned from person-#1-round-2 and the here’s-why-it’s-impossible response was this — writing an RFP at an extracted level is probably fine, as long as I understand that the proposals I get will be estimates only and will need 10-20% of padding added to the final price. I’m fine with this.

Having never written an RFP before (although I’ve responded to many in my past), I went and found some examples of software development RFPs online. Unfortunately they’re from huge bureaucratic organizations (one is from the State of California) and filled with TONS of legal mumbo jumbo. But, you get what you pay for, so now I have to spend some time wading through the best one I can find and tearing it apart and revising it to work for Grouvia.

On the upside, the Grouvia design is done and the functional requirements are mostly done – yay! At least they’re done to the point where I feel confident about having enough information from which to create an RFP. Too bad knowing this doesn’t help me sleep better at night.

* * *

One Response to “Request for Help Falls (Mostly) on Deaf Ears”

  1. David Kutcher Says:

    Hi Lisa,

    I'm sorry I missed your LinkedIn question as I'm typically monitoring rfp-related queries! I run the RFP Database which also has a LinkedIn group with over 3,500 members which all would have been glad to help!

    Regarding your question of how to go about writing a RFP, here's an article I wrote on the subject not so long ago:

    6 steps to writing a better Request for Proposals, a primer

    Also, an article on RFP etiquette; Dos and Don’ts for Business Matchmaking (an interview I gave)

    and one last one: You need to publicize your Requests for Proposals!

    I hope these help and please feel free to contact me if you have any questions! (my contact info is on the blog articles)

    Best,

    -David


Leave a Reply

