A New Kind of Garden

I used to spend a lot of time in my garden. When we bought our last home, in Connecticut, it had basically nothing in terms of a landscape. By the time we left, eight years later, I had built up a pretty nice set of gardens if I do say so myself.

Lisa's Garden In CTI spent almost every weekend in the yard digging, planting, weeding, mulching, moving things around, trimming, dividing, fertilizing, and everything else. It was truly a labor of love. I also spent a lot of time just LOOKING at the different plantings. During the spring and summer I walked around the house twice a day just looking at what had changed since yesterday. The garden looks different in the morning than it does in the afternoon — it is constantly changing and never, ever boring. The New England winter covered the landscape with snow but even then it still had a certain beauty and mystery to it.

Where I live now I don’t spend much time in my garden. I have one but it doesn’t feel like mine. It’s also fairly low maintenance (although the weeds don’t pull themselves unfortunately). My garden doesn’t call to me. Now my business calls to me. Grouvia is my new garden, I am constantly planting seeds, fertilizing, nurturing, inspecting, pulling out stuff I don’t want, looking for ways to make it look better, feel better, grow faster. Like a garden it takes a little bit of money and a lot of hard work. I believe it has the potential to ultimately reward me like my old garden did. It is a labor of love.

* * *

Leave a Reply

