Preliminary Survey Results

It has been so much fun watching these survey results come in. It’s been a little distracting too so I haven’t gotten as much done as I would have liked to!

If you haven’t taken the survey yet, please go here: http://www.grouvia.com/demos/demo1/start.html

But I’m dying to share this with you because it’s SO interesting. It’s only been 2-1/2 days and we still have 4-1/2 days to go, but as long as you understand these are preliminary, I feel good about recording them here. Next week I’ll have final numbers, so stay tuned.

In the meantime, check out these rather surprising stats:

– 0% of the people in the 18-29 year old age group felt that personal blogs are a high priority. Like Wow Man.
– 54% of the respondents are in the 45-59 age bracket, 23% in 30-44.
– majority of respondents (46%) are employed full time, & 23% self-employed
– the vast majority (76%) felt the member home page design was “fairly well laid out” or better. Does that say someting about my design skills? 🙂 HOWEVER, one person felt that it was very confusing. Hm. The survey is anonymous so I can’t ask follow up questions but the comment implied it is too “wordy”, e.g. there is too much text. I’ll have to consider if there’s anything I can do to reduce that. This respondent is in the majority age group so no assumptions can be made there.
– so far the priority of high importance features looks like this:
1. Send messages to other group members
2. Email notifications
3. Event RSVPs and attendance tracking
4. Photo and Video upload for events
5. Mobile /SmartPhone access
6. Stringent User Data security (tie with #5)
7. Search groups by interest and location
8. Group Home Page – Public and Private (tie with #7) (gee I thought this would have been more important)

I won’t do the entire list, but I will share what some the LOWEST priority items were:
Lowest: Non-group/external calendar entries
Next-lowest: Support for carpooling
Next: Spontaneous Group Formation
Also-ran: Group blog, personal blog

I have some initial reactions to this…
… I’m pretty bummed about the lack of interest in spontaneous group formation, I thought it was going to be a big differentiator for grouvia. I might have to put it in anyway (just not in the initial launch) because I think people might appreciate it once they realize how neat it is.
… I was quite shocked at the lack of interest in blogs. The only conclusion I can come up with is that there are so many other blogging platforms out there already that people just want to stick with the status-quo and have a link to their existing blog. Or maybe most people don’t have blogs and don’t want them either. I started a blog last year and abandoned it for months before trashing it and starting a new one (this one). Some people haven’t found their muse yet. That’s ok, blogging is not for everyone.

I hope you have enjoyed this. Next week, final results! In the meantime, I’ll be polishing the preliminary deliverables list for the core players on the grouvia team.

Leave a Reply

