Survey, Week Two

This is Week Two of the creation of the first Grouvia feature survey. I had originally hoped to get the invitation out this week but that was overly optimistic. The actual process of creating the survey is kind of fun and interesting, and it’s not even that hard, but doing this along with the 20 other things I’m trying to do at the same time is quite a challenge. Well… enough whining.

I read that the best day to send someone a survey and have the best chance of a response is Tuesday through Thursday, and avoid the beginning and the end of the week. So I’m going to target next Tuesday afternoon.

I’ve chosen SurveyMonkey.com for my platform. I had also looked into QuestionPro and LimeSurvey, both of which were either lacking in features or had too complicated a billing structure. SurveyMonkey is simple, but has enough features that, if you’re creative, you can pretty much do everything you need to. The one area where it’s completely lacking is the ability to add a multimedia presentation for the user to watch prior to answering the questions. So to get around this I put the demo on my own web site and will send a link to THAT in the invitation to participate. When the user gets to the end of the demo, there will be an automatic redirect to the survey. I still have to test this out to make sure it will work right, but I think it’s a good solution.

In an effort to keep the survey as short as possible, and since the demo takes up part of the time people will spend on this, we had to really cut the number of questions to a bare minimum. In hindsight I think it worked out for the best, because it is forcing us to focus on the list of features, which is the critical piece of information we need now. I also have to make sure we collect at least a minimum set of demographic information so we can use that to explain differences in the results.

This first survey will go out to a collection of family and friends. I will also post an invitation on my LinkedIn and FaceBook pages and groups. SurveyMonkey lets you define different “collectors” with which to distribute your invitations. Hopefully this will mean I can tell in the results how many respondents I got from each of my invitation methods.

Talking of getting participants. An interesting “best practice” I’ve seen several times is to make sure you don’t use spam tactics to invite people to participate. Along with that is the admonition that your participants must always Opt-In. Now of COURSE I would never do any kind of spam marketing, but it brings up the question… How DO you get people to participate in your survey? If you can’t buy or rent a mailing list, and people need to opt-in before you can invite them, where does one get people to participate? It seems like a Catch-22. I suppose I could advertise… Anyway, I’ll deal with that issue when I do my NEXT survey.

Hopefully next week I’ll have some results to share with you.

Leave a Reply

