Ugh, Market Research

Ok so I’ll just put this out there right up front: when it comes to marketing, I’m kinda dumb.  I have read a lot of books that covered the topic, and I have a good “feeling” for what needs to be done, but I have very little experience marketing a new web application.

So I feel like I’m groping around in the dark a little bit.  I know that I have to find out whether this is a viable product before I spend a bunch of resources building it.  But what I really *want* to do is start designing.  It’s more fun, and I know how.  This is tough.  Tough like quitting smoking was tough.  REALLY tough.

A couple of things I need to do are obvious.

1) Create a nice-looking basic web site that briefly explains what this thing is and asks the visitor to provide feedback and/or put their email into my database for future updates.

2) Come up with some catchy Google AdWords ads to get people to visit, give their feedback and email address.  This includes figuring out which keywords to buy and deciding how much to spend on this.

3)  Compile the data as it comes in and use it to adjust the roadmap.Ah, the roadmap.  Hm… that’s something I didn’t do yet.  Crap.

So these three things are pretty simple right?  Not.  I’ve started all three of them, gotten only so far, and then hit a brick wall because I don’t know how to do it.  I think I’ll go get some outside help on this.  Then I need to get to that roadmap — something I DO know how to do.  Maybe I’ll write about that next week.

In the meantime I’ll go back to some of the recent books I’ve read that covered market research and brush up on those sections.

Leave a Reply

